I Am Not Dead

NOTE: Imagine being awakened from sleep with the urge to write a poem…and when you put pen to paper something like this spills on the page? Spooky, hmmmmm?? Well. I left the poem in my folder, undisturbed..trying not to think of what it may mean–until my mother died unexpectedly two months later and I read it (unrevised and as you see it) at her funeral…

I am not dead
my soul lives on,
though from my body
now has gone.

Don’t cry for me
but smile instead.
I live in your heart-
I Am Not Dead.

Now that I’ve gone
you must be assured
my special task I’ve done.
I now can live eternally
My Life has just begun.

Everyone has a special task
in life that they must do.
You must not worry
just what it is,
It will find its way to you.

I’d like to take the time to say
to every one of you:
when you think of me
look to the stars
for that is where I’ll be;

Stretching my arms
around eternity, because
Yes, at Last I’m Free..

Sharon Palmeri
Copyright Library of Congress 1983

Hoosier Horizon Magazine 1991,
Spirits Magazine 1993
Poetry Palace 2005

**The above printed material is copyrighted, is registered with the Library of Congress and is the property of Sharon Palmeri. Permission is needed before use. Thank you! *S* **

About Sharon

Sharon Palmeri received her BS degree in English and journalism from Indiana University Northwest and IU Bloomington. As a published author she has taught in all areas of writing for 20+ years, and has had over two hundred articles and stories published in magazines and newspapers. She freelances as a ghost writer, editor, book doctor, publicist, and publication consultant. She also has worked as content editor, adviser and book layout designer.
This entry was posted in Insight and Epiphany, Inspirational, Poetry, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

