Niagara Falls

Sharon at the Falls 1986

NOTE: A brush with death changes people
in a way that is hard to describe.
I wrote this poem at the falls on a vacation,
after battling a life-threatening illness.

God is here, I hear Him
The rumbling summons
me as I stand with wet
hair pasted to my mouth.

Yes. God is here, I see Him
in the rainbow, rising over
the water as it drifts, dances
leaving, then returning.

Great walls of water
surround me and sing
to Him their own
hymns of praise.

My face is wet with mist.
I breathe in the damp air
the spray–I can taste it
God is here.

I stretch out to touch
the falls–thank you God
for your embrace.

Sharon Palmeri
©1986
Hoosier Horizon Magazine 1992

**The above printed material is copyrighted, is registered with the Library of Congress and is the property of Sharon Palmeri. Permission is needed before use. Thank you! *S* **

About Sharon

Sharon Palmeri received her BS degree in English and journalism from Indiana University Northwest and IU Bloomington. As a published author she has taught in all areas of writing for 20+ years, and has had over two hundred articles and stories published in magazines and newspapers. She freelances as a ghost writer, editor, book doctor, publicist, and publication consultant. She also has worked as content editor, adviser and book layout designer.
This entry was posted in Insight and Epiphany, Inspirational, Poetry, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

